top of page
  • Writer's pictureJennifer Caraccioli

Function And Disfunction


You say that I am called for greatness… while what I see around me is the opposite….

You say that I will change the world…. while I can’t even change my friends

You say that I will leave a legacy for generations to come…. while I see the next generation unwilling to keep the innocence I carry

You say that I will never have to worry…. while my worry became so large it turned into anxiety

You say that I am an example to those around me… while they hide from me when they “fail” to keep up

You say that I will see your glory, that I will see you move mountains… while I see the disfunction in the lives of those I love grow darker…

You say to have no fear…… while I’m so completely overwhelmed

You say to have faith….while what I see screams loudly in my face that it’s impossible

Though….

I can never forget that this world is the opposite of you… that’s why it’s so evident

I can never forget that only you can change people… that's why I’m meant to be a vehicle for that change

I can never forget that I live for generations I will never see… that’s why my generations will benefit from my innocence

I can never forget that you told me to cast all my anxieties on you… that’s why I’m meant to humble and surrender myself to be free

I can never forget that I am here to live a life that pleases you and not the people around me… that's why I’m not here to point fingers… I’m here to guide

I can never forget the things you have already done for those I love… that’s why I know that darkness has no power


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page